3 persons become National Professor

Rtv online report
|  19 Jun 2018, 00:00 | Update : 19 Jun 2018, 22:40
Three eminent Professors have become government recognized ‘National Professor’. They are former Dhaka University Professor and Advisor and Professor Emeritus of Bengali study center of University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh Dr. Rafiqul Islam, Professor Emeritus of Dhaka University Dr. Anisuzzaman and former Professor of civil engineering department of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) Dr. Jamilur Reza Chowdhury.

The President appointed them as National Professor after authorization from the Prime Minister.

Secondary and Higher Education Division of the Education Ministry issued a gazette notification in this regard on Tuesday.

The three National Professors will perform their responsibilities according to the National Professor decisions-1981 and will get salaries and other benefits.

They can get the benefits from their published books while remaining in the post. They can join as Visiting Professor at any foreign university after obtaining permission from the government. While remaining in the post they will not be able to serve any salary based job.

The education ministry scrutinizes for the candidature of National Professor. Education Minister Nurul Islam Nahid is the chairman of the selection committee. The other members are Finance Minister AMA Muhith, Minister for Science and Technology Architect Yeafesh Osman and Dhaka University Vice Chancellor Professor Md. Akhtaruzzaman.


  • Latest
  • Favourite