Candidacies of 8 upazila chairmen cancelled in Appellate Division

Rtv online report
|  24 Dec 2018, 00:00 | Update : 24 Dec 2018, 18:24
The Chamber Judge Court has delivered ‘No order’ over the matter of appeal filed by eight upazila chairmen whose candidacies were cancelled in the eleventh national parliament election.

The chamber judge court of the Appellate Division Justice Nuruzzaman delivered the order on Monday.

Following the order the previous verdict of High Court will be reinstated. For this reason total 8 candidates including 7 of BNP and one independent cannot return to the election.

The High Court issued rule suspending their candidacies as all of these candidates were running in the general election while remaining in their post of upazila chairman. In this situation the candidates filed appeal individually to the Appellate Division seeking stay order on the High Court order.

The candidates are- Faridul Kabir Talukder of Jamalpur-4, Md. Fazlur Rahman of Joypurhat-1, Abdul  Mazid of Jhinaidaha-2, Abu Sayeed Chand of Rajshahi-6, Engineer Moslem Uddin of Brahmanbaria-4, Khondoker Abu Ashfaque of Dhaka-1 and Tamij Uddin of Dhaka-20. The chamber court also reinstated the nomination paper cancellation order of Mymensingh-8 constituency’s independent candidate Mahmud Hasan Suman.

The lawyers of the candidates said, to take part in the parliament election these candidates resigned from their posts and submitted nomination papers. But the concerned Returning Officers cancelled the nomination papers as their resignation letters were not accepted. They appealed to the Election commission but were denied. Later they appealed in the High Court.


  • Latest
  • Favourite