Mustafiz named in ICC ODI team of the year

Rtv Online Report
|  22 Jan 2019, 00:00 | Update : 22 Jan 2019, 15:46
Bangladesh’s cutter master Mustafizur Rahman has been named in ICC’s ODI team of the year 2018.

India captain Virat Kohli has been named to lead ICC's ODI Team of the Year, which features four players each from India and England.

Kohli was named captain as he led India to nine wins from the 14 games he played. Overall, India won 14 games and lost just four, while being involved in a couple of tied matches.

England too enjoyed a similarly stellar record in 2018, winning 17 times out of 24 matches, winning every series barring a one-off ODI against Scotland.

The Bangladesh fast bowler enjoyed good form in 2018, picking up 29 wickets at an average of 21.72.

In the Asia Cup 2018, he picked up 10 wickets at 18.50 to finish as the joint highest wicket-taker with Rashid Khan and Kuldeep Yadav, who also feature in this team.

His ability to swing the ball coupled with his bag of wily slower ones makes him a fine ODI bowler.

Test Team of the Year (in batting order):

Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India) (capt), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India) (wk), Jason Holder (Windies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

ODI team of the year (in batting order):

Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India) (capt), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England) (wk), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India)


  • Latest
  • Favourite