Circular for 40,199 vote centres in 300 seats issued

Rtv Online Report
|  05 Dec 2018, 00:00 | Update : 05 Dec 2018, 14:03
The Election Commission has issued a circular on Tuesday finalising a list of 40,199 polling stations in the 300 constituencies across the country in the 11th general election slated for December 30.

EC’s deputy secretary Md Abdul Halim Khan said the gazettes of all vote centres had been published within the specific timeframe following the directives of the commission.

He added that it was mandatory to publish the gazette of all the polling centres by Tuesday.

In August last, returning officers in the 300 parliamentary seats proposed 40,657 centres for EC’s approval and later it has given approval to 40,199 polling stations, said Halim.

There were 37,707 vote centres against 9.19 crore voters in 300 constituencies in the 10th parliamentary election while around 10.42 crore voters will exercise their franchise in the 11th general polls.

As per the polls schedule, the last date of nomination paper submission was November 28 while the scrutiny of nomination papers was held on December 2.

The deadline for withdrawal of candidature is December 9 next.


  • Latest
  • Favourite