BNP candidate wins Bogura-6 by-election

প্রকাশ | ২৪ জুন ২০১৯, ০০:০০ | আপডেট: ২৪ জুন ২০১৯, ২২:০০

Bogura Correspondent

BNP nominated candidate Golam Mohammad Siraj has won the Bogura-6 constituency by-election. He defeated Awami League candidate T Zaman Niketa by 57 thousand 445 votes.

Though vote taking was peaceful from the morning of Monday but voters’ presence was less. In the election of December 30 in this constituency BNP nominated candidate Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir beat grand alliance candidate by one lakh 66 thousand 663 votes.

In this constituency comprising Bogura municipality and sadar upazila the number of total voters is three lakh 87 thousand 458. Of them one lakh 33 thousand 870 voters exercised their rights.

Winner Golam Mohammad Siraj with symbol sheaf of paddy got 89 thousand 742 votes. His nearest competitor is Awami League’s T Zaman Niketa wit symbol boat got 32 thousand 297 votes. Former MP and Jatiya Party candidate Nurul Islam Omor got seven thousand 271 votes. Besides, independent candidates Minhaz Mandal got two thousand 920 votes, Syed Kabir Ahmed Mithu got 630 votes, Muslim League’s Mufti Rafiqul Islam got 554 votes and professor Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress got 456 votes.

The vote taking continued from 9 am to 5 pm without any break. The overall vote casting was less though voters presence increased in the afternoon. After voting vote counting began at the centers. After that from 6 pm Returning Officer began to declare the results from the control room set up at Shaheed Chandu Stadium.

After winning the eleventh national parliament election from this constituency Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take the oath and as a result the seat was declared vacant. After winning the election the number of total seats for BNP in the parliament stands at six.