First metro rail to come in ‘red and green’

Sahinur Rahman
|  17 Mar 2018, 00:00 | Update : 15 Jul 2018, 11:47
Day-night huge construction work is going on in Mirpur-10, 11, 12 section, Kazipara, Shewrapara, Taltala and Agargaon. Large size cranes and excavators are placed to perform the piling work. With a sole target- to introduce metro rail by the year 2019 and make Dhaka free from traffic congestion.

According to the project sources, from Uttara third project to Mirpur, Agargaon, Farmgate and Motijheel- metro rail will stop in 16 stations in this 20.1 kilometers long route. This is being conducted by Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) under Road Transport and Bridges ministry.

Concerned said, it will need 37 minutes to come at Motijheel from Uttara if the project is implemented. The pace of this electricity run train will be 32 kilometers per hour on average. 14 trains each containing 6 carriages will run in this route. Each train will carry one thousand 696 passengers. 942 can sit in the train while 754 will travel by standing. From each side 30 thousand passengers can move from each direction that means total 60 thousand passengers can be transported by the trains per hour.

They further said, when the metro rail will be operated in 2019 for the first time then the trains will depart with an interval of 3:30 minutes. If the demand would rise then the trains would depart with 2 minutes interval.

According to the sources, construction work of Uttara third phase to Agargaon will be completed by December 2019 and the total construction work to Bangladesh Bank end will be completed by December 2020.

The 16 metro rail stations are: Uttara north, Uttara center, Uttara south, Pallabi, Mirpur-11, Mirpur-10, Kazipara, Shewrapara, Agargaon, Bijoy Sarani, Farmgate, Karwan Bazar, Shahbag, Dhaka University, Bangladesh Secretariat and Motijheel.

MAN Siddique, Project Director of Metro Rail project said, designs are being conducted of metro rail giving prevalence of the color red and green. We are inaugurating the service with 6 carriages. But there will be a mechanism to run the service with 8 carriages.

He also said, we have installed a control system so that trains can leave for destinations with an interval of 3 minutes. There will also be a mechanism so that those could leave in 2 minutes interval.

He believes that the traffic congestion would come down in a durable stage after inaugurating the service in this route. Because, 60 thousand passengers could move in an hour.

MAN Siddique also said, trains will move according to the schedule. If the train is scheduled to depart at 10:03:05 then it will definitely start running at 10:03:05.


  • Latest
  • Favourite