• Dhaka Tue, 14 JULY 2020,

Nobel Peace Prize for anti-rape activists Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege

Rtv online desk
|  05 Oct 2018, 00:00 | Update : 05 Oct 2018, 16:37
Photo: Courtesy
The 2018 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to campaigners against rape in warfare Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege.

Nadia Murad is a Yazidi woman who was tortured and raped by Islamic State militants and later became the face of a campaign to free the Yazidi people.

Denis Mukwege is a Congolese gynecologist who, along with his colleagues, has treated tens of thousands of victims.

Some 331 individuals and organizations were nominated for the prestigious peace award this year.

The winners announced in the Norwegian capital Oslo on Friday won the award for their "efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war", Berit Reiss-Andersen, the Nobel committee chair, said.

The pair both made a "crucial contribution to focusing attention on, and combating, such war crimes," Reiss-Andersen added.

Denis Mukwege and his colleagues in DR Congo are said to have treated about 30,000 rape victims, developing great expertise in the treatment of serious sexual injuries, many in instances of war.

Nadia Murad became an activist for the Yazidi people after escaping IS in November 2014, campaigning to help put an end to human trafficking.

Earlier this week the Nobel prize for physics was awarded to Donna Strickland, only the third woman winner of the award and the first in 55 years. The Canadian was announced along with Arthur Ashkin, from the US, and Gerard Mourou, from France.

The Nobel prize for medicine was awarded to two scientists - Professor James P Allison from the US and Professor Tasuku Honjo from Japan - who discovered how to fight cancer using the body's immune system.

Source: BBC


  • Latest
  • Favourite