• Dhaka Tue, 07 JULY 2020,

Modi to take oath on Thursday as PM for second term

Rtv online desk
|  26 May 2019, 00:00 | Update : 26 May 2019, 20:52
Photo: Collected
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister of India for the second consecutive term on Thursday (May 30) as President Ram Nath Kovind invited him at Rastrapati Bhavan at 7 pm to this end.

“The President will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of Union Council of Ministers on May 30 at 07.00 pm at Rashtrapati Bhavan,” a statement issued by President’s Secretariat said. Reports BSS.

However, the government has also not announced the guest list for the swearing-in ceremony.

In 2014, leaders of the SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) including Nawaz Sharif of Pakistan were invited and attended the ceremony.

Earlier, President Ram Nath Kovind appointed Modi as Prime Minister for the second consecutive term soon after the NDA leaders on Saturday elected Modi as their leader in parliament.

“Exercising powers vested in him under Article 75 (1) of the Constitution of India, the President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, today appointed Shri Narendra Modi to the office of Prime Minister of India,” said a statement issued from the President’s secretariat here last evening.

The President also requested Modi to “advise him about the names of others to be appointed members of the Union Council of Ministers and indicate the date and time of the swearing-in-ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan”.

Modi was formally intimated when he called on the President at Rashtrapati Bhavan in his capacity as leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party, which has majority support in parliament following the general election to the 17th Lok Sabha.


  • Latest
  • Favourite