• ঢাকা

Notice: Use of undefined constant YOUTUBE_URL - assumed 'YOUTUBE_URL' in /home/rtvnews24/public_html/english/templates/rtv-v1/main_content.php on line 15

Notice: Undefined index: featured_video in /home/rtvnews24/public_html/english/templates/rtv-v1/details_page/details_content.php on line 21

Jahidur Rahman expelled from BNP

Rtv online report
|  ২৭ এপ্রিল ২০১৯, ০০:০০ | আপডেট : ২৭ এপ্রিল ২০১৯, ২৩:০০

Notice: Undefined index: alt_tag in /home/rtvnews24/public_html/english/templates/rtv-v1/details_page/details_img.php on line 6
Jahidur Rahman. File Photo.
BNP has decided to expel Jahidur Rahman, the elected Member of Parliament (MP) from Thakurgaon-3 constituency as he took the oath disobeying the party decision.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir delivered the information after holding the standing committee meeting on Saturday night. The meeting was held at the political office of BNP Chairperson.

Mirza Fakhrul said, our party decision was that those who were declared elected as MP will not take the oath. For violating the decision and for taking oath Jahidur Rahman was expelled from the party after cancelling his primary membership in the standing committee meeting unanimously.

He said, in today’s meeting mourning was expressed following death of eminent journalist Mahfuz Ullah. Condolence was paid to the bereaved family members.

Earlier in the hour long meeting from 8:30 pm on Saturday BNP standing committee members Dr. Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Barrister Moudud Ahmed, Barrister Jamiruddin Sircar, Lt. General Mahbubur Rahman (retd), Mirza Abbas, Dr. Moyeen Khan, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Nazrul Islam Khan, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury were present.

Mentionable, Jahidur Rahman was sworn in as MP on Thursday. After being elected from Thakurgaon-3 constituency under BNP ticket he took the oath undermining the party decision. 

Six candidates from BNP were elected in the eleventh national parliament election that took place on December 30 last year. BNP rejected the election and decided to not to take oath as MP.

According to the rules, there is obligation to take oath by the MPs elected within 90 days of first session of parliament. So BNP elect lawmakers need to take oath by April 30.


  • সর্বশেষ
  • পাঠক প্রিয়