Women’s WT20QLF: Bangladesh rout Netherlands by 7 wkts

Rtv online desk
|  08 Jul 2018, 00:00 | Update : 16 Jul 2018, 20:21
Bangladesh women’s cricket team took another step towards qualification in the next Women's World T20 after a seven-wicket victory against hosts Netherlands in the Pool A Qualifier at Sportpark Maarschalkerweerd, Utrecht in Netherlands on Sunday.

Bangladesh easily chased a target of 43 runs, scoring 44 for 3 in 7.5 overs as Rumana Ahmed fired a four in the match’s last ball off Silver Siegers.

Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman did the half of the chase sharing 22 off 3.2 overs in the opening stand before Fargana Hoque played an unbeaten innings. 

Shamima (14 off 12b; 3x4) and Fargana (11* off 9b; 2x4) were double digit scorers for the winners. Ayasha Rahman was out for six while Rumana and N Sultana added four runs each.  

Pace bowler Cher van Slobbe (2/4) and spinner Silver Siegers (1/16) were the wicket takers for the host side.

Earlier, sent in to bat first, the Netherlands finished on 42 for all in 18 overs where opener Sterre Kalis (15 off 30b; 3x4) and Denise Hannema (14 off 27b) were the double digit scorers for the side.

Rumana Ahmed (3/2) and player of the match Fahima Khatun (3/3) equally shared six wickets while Panna Ghosh (2/13), skipper Salma Khatun (1/2) and Nahida Akter (1/10) were other wicket takers for Bangladesh.

Salma Khatun made the first breakthrough in her 3rd ball of the first spell, removing Netherlands skipper Heather Siegers being caught by Nahida Akter on zero in 1.3 overs before Panna Ghosh bowled out opener Sterre Kalis (15 off 30b; 3x4) on 23/2 in 7.4 overs.


The top slot holders in points table, Bangladesh will play the next and last qualifiers game against the UAE on July 10.

Bangladesh started the tournament campaign with an emphatic eight-wicket victory against Papua New Guinea while the Netherlands lost their first game against the United Arab Emirates (UAE) by six wickets – both on Saturday.

A total of eight teams split in two groups are competing in the qualifiers for the two seats of the Women's World T20 scheduled to be staged from November 9-25 in the West Indies.

The top place finishers from each group will join Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and hosts West Indies in the World T20. 

Source: UNB


  • Latest
  • Favourite