Asia Cup: Bangladesh set poor target before India

Rtv online desk
|  21 Sep 2018, 00:00 | Update : 21 Sep 2018, 22:37
Bangladesh posted an ordinary figure of 173 runs for all ahead of mighty India in their first Super-Four stage battle of the 14th Asia Cup at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Sent in to bat first, Bangladesh faced seatback from the beginning and lost wickets in gradual interval until skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mehidy Hasan Miraz stand for a partnership of 66 off 13.1 overs in the 8th wicket when the innings total overs was 49.1.

Mashrafe [26 off 32b; 2x6] and top-scorer Miraz [42 off 50b; 2x4; 2x6] started after the dismissal of Mosaddek Hossain on 101/7 in 33.2 overs and carried the tally to 167/8 in 46.3 overs before Mashrafe was caught by Jasprit Bumrah off Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Miraz was caught by Shikhar Dhawan off Jasprit Bumrah leaving team total at 169/9 in 47.2 overs.

Earlier, Mahmudullah Riyad [25 off 51b; 3x4] and Mosaddek [12off 43b] hold their nerve a bit after Bangladesh passed through a blow of a five-wicket loss within the 18th over for 65, but Mahmudullah was lbw by Bhuvneshwar Kumar to fall apart from the 6th wicket on Bangladesh’s 101 in 32.5 overs.

Bangladesh’s another big hope, Mushfiqur Rahim [21off 45b; 1x4] was sent back to the pavilion in the last ball of the 18th over being caught by Yuzvendra Chahal off Ravindra Jadeja.

Senior all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan [17 off 12b; 3x4] came in to the crease when Bangladesh had already suffered an early jolt with 16/2 in 5.1 overs, losing both their opening batsmen -Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Liton Kumar Das.

Shakib could have recovered the early damage, but the talismanic all-rounder paired with Mushfiq only for a 26 off 27 balls. He was caught by Shikhar Dhawan, playing a poor and shoddy shot off Ravindra Jadeja after two successive boundaries in the 10th over.

Mohammad Mithun also failed to stay long with Mushfiq as followed Shakib soon as lbw by Ravindra Jadeja on 60/4 in 15.4 overs.

Sending in to bat first, Bangladesh opened the innings and Liton was sent back to the pavilion by Bhuvneshwar Kumar at 15 in the third ball of the fourth over before Jasprit Bumrah got Shanto in the first balls of the sixth over.

Scoring a seven-run each, Liton and Shanto were caught by Kedar Jadhav and by Shikhar Dhawan respectively.

Ravindra Jadeja (4/29), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3/32) and Jasprit Bumrah (3/37) shared all wickets for India with conceding runs.

Source: UNB


  • Latest
  • Favourite