Dhaka take revenge of last year’s final beating Rangpur

Mahedi Hasan, Rtv online
|  11 Jan 2019, 00:00 | Update : 11 Jan 2019, 19:28
Audiences always want this type of tight match in T-20s. At last BPL has come out of sluggish match. The spectators had a requital of their ticket money after coming to watch the match between last year’s finalists Dhaka Dynamites and Rangpur Riders on Friday. The gallery of Sher-e-Bangla stadium has got the life as it was filled with the spectators.

After winning the toss Rangpur sent Dhaka to bat first in the first match of the day.

While batting the two consecutive half century holder Hazratullah Zazai went to the dressing room in the second over bowled by Sohag Gazi just scoring 1 run. On the following over Sunil Narine was caught out bowled by Mashrafe.

Then in the brink of fierce bowling of Rangpur Shakib and Pollard made a partnership of 78 runs of 35 balls. Shakib scored 36 runs of 37 balls.

Pollard was on fire. He made a spectacular innings of 62 runs of just 26 balls and helped Dhaka Dynamites to score a big total.

With help of Russell’s 23 runs of just 13 balls Dhaka scored 183 runs in the stipulated 20 overs.

For Rangpur Sohag Gazi and Howell took two wickets each while Mashrafe ans Farhad Reza bagged one wicket each.

To achieve the huge target of 184 runs all eyes were on Chris Gayle but he frustrated the audience. He scored only 8 runs. And another opener Mehedi Maruf was out by Andre Russell after scoring 10 runs.

Then Russou and Mithun made a partnership of 121 runs of 73 balls. Al Islam made Russou out after playing a solid innings of 83 runs with help of 8 fours and 4 sixes of just 44 balls.

After the out of Russou, Mithun who was scoring fast runs was also got out by Al Islam. Then Al Islam in the same over made Mashrafe and Farhad Reza out and made the first hat trick in this tournament.

Following the hat trick of Al Islam and tight bowling of Sunil Narine Rangpur were defeated by just 2 runs.

Al Islam took 4 wickets for Dhaka and Sunil Narine took 2 while Russell, Shuvagata and Shakib bagged one wicket each.

With this win Dhaka Dynamites took the taste of revenge of last year’s defeat by Rangpur Riders in the tournament final.


  • Latest
  • Favourite