ICC Women’s T-20 WCQ: Bangladesh emerge unbeaten champions

প্রকাশ | ০৭ সেপ্টেম্বর ২০১৯, ০০:০০ | আপডেট: ০৭ সেপ্টেম্বর ২০১৯, ২২:৪৬

Rtv online desk
Photo: Collected.

Bangladesh Women’s Cricket team were crowned champions with an all-win record beating Thailand by 70 runs in the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers at the Forthill in Dundee, Scotland on Saturday.

Both finalists of the eight-team tournament, Bangladesh and Thailand, had earlier earned the right to play in the final round of the upcoming ten-team ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 scheduled February-March in Australia.

Asian Champions Bangladesh played the ICC Women's T20 World Cup final thrice -- in 2014 in Bangladesh, 2016 in India and in 2018 in the West Indies while Thailand Women’s made their first ever final round berth as the runners-up of qualifying round.
Tigresses clinched their first ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier title beating Ireland by 25 runs in Netherlands on July 14 in 2018 while Bangladesh booked a seat for the World Cup final round as runners up after conceding a 2-wicket defeat against the Ireland in Thailand on December 5 in 2015.
Chasing a target of 131 runs, Thailand restricted at 60 runs for 7 in stipulated 20 overs to concede their first defeat in the qualifying meet.
Tail-ender Ratanaporn Padunglerd scored the team highest 15 runs while number five batsman Wongpaka Liengprasert added 11 runs, were the notable scorer for Thailand reaching the doubles figures. 
Spinners Nahida Akter and Shaila Sharmin bagged two wickets each conceding 17 and 9 runs respectively for Bangladesh while captain Salma Khatun and Khadija Tul Kubra picked up one wicket each. 

Earlier, a brilliant half century by Sanjida Islam enabled Bangladesh Women’s Cricket team to score 130 for 5 in stipulated 20 overs against Thailand Women’s Cricket team in the final. 

Bangladesh opened the innings first after winning the toss and two openers Sanjida Islam and Murshida Khatun made a solid foundation for the Tigresses contributing 68 runs in 10.1 overs in the opening stand 
Murshida Khatun furnished her 33-run-innings hitting 4 fours before dismissed by Thai leg-spinner Suleeporn Laomi.  
Another opener Sanjida Islam pairing with Nigar Sultana scored 26 runs in the 2nd wicket stand to carry the team total to 94 in 14.3 overs. Nigar Sultana added 8 runs featuring one four before removed by veteran Thai off-spinner Sornnarin Tippoch. 

But Sanjida stayed till the end of the innings knocking a polished 71 runs off 60 balls smashing 6 fours and 3 sixes.
Bangladesh lost three more wickets -- Shaila Sharmin (3), Jahanara Alam (3) and Fahima Khatun (0) -- for 18 runs while number seven batsman Fargana Hoque remained on unbeaten on 2 runs off one ball. 

Thai off-spinner Nattaya Boochatham picked up 2 for 31 while Sornnarin Tippoch and Suleeporn Laomi bagged one wicket each conceding 18 and 13 runs respectively.

Bangladesh secured final beating Ireland by 4 wickets with 9 balls remaining in the first semis on Thursday while Thailand confirmed the final spot outplaying Papua New Guinea by 8 wickets with 15 balls remaining in the second semis, both at the Forthill in Dundee.

Bangladesh Women’s team emerged Group A champions to reach the semifinals in the eight-team fray with all-win record securing full six points from straight three matches.

On the other hand, Thailand women emerged Group B champions to reach the semifinals in the eight-team match with all-win record securing full six points from straight three matches.

Source: UNB