Abahani win Dhaka Premier League cricket title

Rtv online report
|  05 Apr 2018, 00:00 | Update : 05 Apr 2018, 18:50
Abahani Limited have clinched the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) cricket trophy of this year. This is their second trophy after DPL was given the list A status. The team from Dhanmondi won the record 19 trophies including Senior Division and Premier League title after the independence.

With the win over Legends of Rupganj on Thursday Abahani have become champion with 24 points playing 16 matches. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club become runners up while Rupganj have to satisfy with third place.   

Batting first, Abahani Opener Nazmul Hasan Shanto and captain Nasir Hossain struck tons in the do-or-die match against Legends of Rupganj to propel Abahani to 374.

Rupganj had won the toss and sent Abahani in to bat first in a match where Abahani need a win to clinch the title. Abahani were off to a great start as both openers Anamul Haque and Nazmul got going early on. Anamul fell after a 51-ball 57 and Abahani lost two more wickets soon after. A 187-run fourth-wicket partnership developed between Nasir Hossain and Nazmul.

Player-of-the-match Nasir was in blistering form, hitting 15 fours and four sixes in a 91-ball 129 run knock before he fell in the 44th over. Nazmul scored 113 runs. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s cameo eight-ball 28, where he hit four sixes, took the Abahani score to 374.

In reply, Rupganj were bowled out for 280 in 42.4 overs. Mohammad Naim struck a 54-ball 70 at the top of the innings before he was bowled by Nasir. Captain Naeem Islam struck 76 while Mushfiqur Rahim played 66 balls for his 67 but their efforts were not enough as Abahani bowled them out for 280 to clinch the title on the last day.

Abahani’s Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sanzamul Islam, Sandeep Roy and Nasir Hossain bagged two wickets each.


  • Latest
  • Favourite